The last mode, on the Tool bar for the selection tool is for the Connected Walls mode. This mode is only available if you have Vectorworks Architect, or one of the designer packages.
This mode connects walls that are joined together, so that when you move one of the walls the others automatically extend to maintain the joints. If you want to move a wall without extending the adjacent walls, turn this mode off.
Get more training at http://store.archoncad.com